Indianapolis, a circuit with many stories and numbers


The MOTOGP returns after a well deserved summer break, and the title fight between championship leader Valentino Rossi,  Jorge Lorenzo,  Andrea Dovizioso from Ducati team and the Honda’s rider, Marc Marquez.

The series travels back to America for the second and final U.S. grand prix of 2015, this time at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Last semester was in Austin, Texas.

This is the eighth successive year that a motorcycle grand prix event will be held at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and here we have some facts and statistics related to this particular circuit:

  1. This is the 28th time in this country;
  2. The first 2 events in 1964 and 1965 were located in Daytona circuit;
  3. 15 MotoGPs have taken place at the Laguna Seca circuit;
  4. 7 of them were at Indianapolis and 3 in Austin;
  5. The 1st Indianapolis MotoGP was in 2008 when, because of the Hurricane Ike, the mayor race was cut short and the 250cc was canceled. The rain and winds were very strong.;
  6. The Yamaha riders won the 2 first races in Indianapolis;
  7. The Honda team won the last 5 years;
  8. Nicky Hayden’s 3rd place finish in 2009 is the only MotoGP podium by a Ducati rider;
  9. Suzuki’s best results are 6th place finishes, with Alvaro Bautista in 2011 and Ben Spies in 2008;
  10. In the first 4 MotoGPs, just  American rider finished on the podium each year: Nicky Hayden 2nd in 2008 and 3rd in 2009, Ben Spies 2nd in 2010 and 3rd in 2011;
  11. In 2012, the 1st American to receive the checkered flag was Colin Edwards in 13th place and in 2013 it was Nicky Hayden in 9th;
  12. In 2014,  the only American rider was Colin Edwards, who finished 13th;
  13. Jorge Lorenzo’s 6 MotoGP podium finishes at the Indianapolis, he is the number 1 at Indianapolis circuit;
  14. 4 of the riders who will be competing this year have taken part in all 7 previous MotoGP at Indianapolis circuit: Jorge Lorenzo, Andrea Dovizioso, Valentino Rossi and Dani Pedrosa;
  15. The last 2 years, Marc Marquez has qualified on pole, won the race and set the fastest lap;
  16. For the last 4 years, the rider who qualified on the pole position, won the race;
  17. Ben Spies’ pole position at Indianapolis in 2010 is the last time that an American rider started from pole in MotoGP.Saturday-Indianapolis-Motor-Speedway-Indianapolis-Grand-Prix-MotoGP-2015-Tony-Goldsmith-2086


Leave A Reply

Translate »
Skip to toolbar